How Has A Daily Routine Improved My Day?

Amulya Sonthi
3 min readApr 19, 2021

--

Many people say that daily routines are useless and boring and hard to follow so they say “why even put effort into making one?”

Personally, I didn’t find my daily routine being boring or even hard to follow, in fact, my productivity and discipline increased when I started to follow a daily routine. It kept track of what i needed to complete in a day and it helped me finish all my homework and assignments on time without procrastinating. Trust me, I used to be one of the biggest procrastinators and I sometimes left work to do almost a day before it was due. I realised I had to do something about it. So over the Christmas holidays, I produced a daily routine for a week to repeat and it had equal breaks and work sessions.

In a timetable/daily routine, don’t think you have to just work for the whole day; split up your work so you are less likely to break away from the routine. All my daily routine was for me, was to organise the day as I spend a lot of time thinking about what to do and checking what assignments to complete and it wastes a lot of time. Making this routine helped me have a clear head because I knew I was going to complete everything I needed to in that day.

Furthermore, when it was time to watch and relax, I didn’t have to feel guilty; instead, it made me savour and enjoy the time to relax( it was almost like a reward)! This improved my mental health as I felt more free and relieved.

In addition, having this daily routine also helped me gain enough sleep required to feel energetic and happy. Instead of sleeping past 1am and waking up at 8, I am sleeping before midnight and waking up before 7 ! Most days, I didn’t feel moody or lethargic in the mornings.

My daily routine also reduced my stress levels and formed healthy new habits, including exercise, spending time with family and reading. With this daily routine, I used my time effectively and didn’t make yesterday’s to-do list my aim for today. Another reason I would say that a daily routine improved my day, would be that it increased my focus and attention on the work I had to complete as I knew I would get to have a break as soon as I am finished and that motivates me to finish a task.

Overall, the way in which a daily routine improved my day was by:

  1. Increasing my productivity
  2. Strengthening my self-discipline
  3. Increasing my focus
  4. Decreasing my stress levels
  5. Forming new healthy habits
  6. Making studying more smooth and efficient
  7. Organising my time and tasks

I would personally recommend you made a daily routine if you want to achieve/ improve on the habits above. What better time to start then now!

Remember, you don’t have to make boring and just a work load, daily routines must motivate you not put you off doing the work you need to do. Make it fun, efficient and balanced. I guarantee you will feel you are living a more healthy lifestyle.

--

--